

1st International Conference on Energy-Efficient Computing and Networking University of Passau, Germany April 13-15, 2010

Overview

e-Energy 2010 is the first international conference on energy-efficient computing and networking. Due to the increasing significance of power consumption, the goal of e-Energy is to bring together researchers, developers, practitioners working in this area to discuss recent and innovative results, and identify future directions and challenges. The spreading of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) has contributed much to the reduction of energy consumption in many areas of everyday life. Nevertheless ICT has to move ahead and be more energy-efficient itself. e-Energy addresses the entire IT-world. The conference addresses the fields of servers and communication infrastructures, services in data centers, end-systems in home and office environments, sensor networks, and future networks such as the Future Internet. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Instrumentation and measurement of energy-efficient computing and networking
- Energy and performance profiling, accounting of energy consumption
- Metrics, benchmarks, interfaces, tools
- Monitoring and management concepts
- Energy, performance, quality of service and other resource trade offs
- Energy-efficient networking and protocols
- Energy-efficient peer-to-peer networking and overlays
- Future energy-efficient architectures
- Energy-efficient application design
- Load, heat, and resource modeling
- Load, heat, and resource management
- Reliability and power management
- Energy-efficient grid, cloud, and data-center technology
- Energy efficiency and virtualization
- Energy efficiency, resource sharing and security
- SmartGrids: new computing and networking contributions
- Sensing techniques and sensor networks for energy awareness
- Energy-efficient network components (switches, routers etc.)
- Design methodologies and tools for energy-efficient services
- Security challenges in energy-efficient computing and networking

Publications related information

e-Energy invites submission of full papers, no longer than 10 pages and visionary papers no longer than 4 pages presenting original research results that have not been previously published or are currently under review by another conference or journal. Submissions must be in PDF-format using the double-column ACM format given at http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates. Further submission information can be accessed via http://www.e-energy-conf.org/. Proceedings will be published by ACM and appear in the ACM and IEEE CS digital libraries. In addition, best papers selected in the conference will be published in a journal special issue.

Visionary paper

A visionary paper describes innovative and novel ideas that have the potential to significantly influence the community. The goal is to promote community-wide discussions of those ideas. The paper could, for example, expose a new problem, advocate a new approach, re-frame or debunk existing work, report unexpected results from a deployment, or propose new evaluation methodologies. We especially encourage submissions of early-stage work and enticing but unproven ideas. We discourage submissions of shortened version of full papers that will be automatically rejected.

Call for Papers

www.e-energy-conf.org







General Co-Chairs:

R. Katz, UC Berkeley **D. Hutchison**, Lancaster University

TPC Co-Chairs:

H. de Meer, University of PassauS. Singh, Portland State UniversityT. Braun, University of Bern

Publicity Chair:

K. Hummel, University of Vienna

Full paper due (extended):

November 8, 2009 (Sunday) October 30, 2009 (Friday)

Visionary paper due: November 8, 2009 (Sunday)

Notification of acceptance:
Will be announced

Final version due:
Will be announced

TPC Members:

David Andersen, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh (USA)

Georgios Andreadis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece)

Lachlan Andrew, Swinburne University (Australia)

David Bateman, Électricité de France (EDF), Paris (France)

Georg Carle, TU München (Germany)

Trishul Chilimbi, Microsoft Research, Redmond (USA)

Ken Christensen, University of South Florida (USA)

Marco Di Girolamo, HP - European Innovation Centre (Italy)

Christophe Diot, Thomson Technology Paris Laboratory (France)

Ron Doyle, IBM Research Triangle Park (USA)

Dominique Dudkowski, NEC Laboratories Europe, Heidelberg (Germany)

Prabal Dutta, UC Berkeley (USA)

Carla Ellis, Duke University, Durham (USA)

Babak Falsafi, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) (Switzerland)

Serge Fdida, University Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris (France)

Erol Gelenbe, Imperial College London (UK)

Benjamin Greenstein, Intel Research Seattle (USA)

Rajesh Gupta, University of California, San Diego (USA)

Mark Handley, University College London (UK)

Kerry Hinton, University of Melbourne (Australia)

Helmut Hlavacs, Vienna University (Austria)

Canturk Isci, IBM TJ Watson Research Center (USA)

Hiroshi Ishikawa, Nat. Inst. of Adv. Industrial Science and Technology (AIST) (Japan)

Aman Kansal, Microsoft Research, Redmond (USA)

Ryutaro Kawamura, Nat. Inst. of Inform. and Comm. Technology / NTT Labs (Japan)

Wolfgang Kellerer, DoCoMo Euro-Labs, Munich (Germany)

Lukas Kencl, Czech Technical University in Prague (Czech Republic)

JongWon Kim, Gwangju Institute of Science an Technology (GIST) (Republic of Korea)

Gabriele Kotsis, Johannes Kepler University of Linz (Austria)

Paul Kühn, Stuttgart University (Germany)

Jean-Yves Leboudec, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) (Switzerland)

Laurent Lefevre, INRIA, University of Lyon (France)

Priya Mahadevan, HP Labs, Palo Alto (USA)

Jukka Manner, Helsinki University of Technology (Finland)

Marco Ajmone Marsan, Politecnico di Torino (Italy)

Avi Mendelson, Microsoft R&D Israel (Israel)

Ruben Merz, Deutsche Telekom Laboratories, Berlin (Germany)

Pierre Michaud, IRISA, Rennes (France)

Archan Misra, Telcordia, New Jersey (USA)

Nicolas Montavont, Telecom Bretagne (France)

John Morrison, University College Cork (Ireland)

Paul Müller, TU Kaiserslautern (Germany)

Hiroshi Nakamura, University of Tokyo (Japan)

Aki Nakao, University of Tokyo (Japan)

Bruce Nordman, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (USA)

Yoram Ofek, University of Trento (Italy)

Jörg Ott, Helsinki University of Technology (Finland)

Manish Parashar, Rutgers University, Newark (USA)

Jean-Marc Pierson, IRIT, University Paul Sabatier, Toulouse (France)

Bernhard Plattner, ETH Zürich (Switzerland)

Christian Prehofer, Nokia, Helsinki (Finland)

David Remondo, Technical University of Catalonia (UPC), Barcelona (Spain)

Andrew Rice, University of Cambridge (UK)

Suzanne Rivoire, Sonoma State University (USA)

Eliot Salant, IBM Haifa Research Labs (Israel)

Yiannakis Sazeides, University of Cyprus (Cyprus)

Eve M. Schooler, Intel Labs, Santa Clara (USA) Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University (USA)

Charles G. Sheridan, Intel Labs Europe, Dublin (Ireland)

Fernando Solano, Warsaw University of Technology (Poland)

James P.G. Sterbenz, University of Kansas (USA)

John Strassner, Waterford Institute of Technology (Ireland)

Domenico Talia, University of Calabria (Italy)

Gabor Terstyanszky, University of Westminster (UK)

Jordi Torres, Technical University of Catalonia, Barcelona Supercomuting Center (Spain)

Phuoc Tran-Gia, Würzburg University (Germany)

Anh Tuan Trinh, Budapest University of Technology an Economics (Hungary)

Rod Tucker, University of Melbourne (Australia)

Thomas Wenisch, University of Michigan (USA)

Jörg Widmer, DoCoMo Euro-Labs, Munich (Germany)

James Won-Ki Hong, Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH) (South Korea)

Martina Zitterbart, Karlsruhe University (TH) (Germany)

Albert Zomaya, University of Sydney (Australia)

Moshe Zukerman, City University of Hong Kong (China)