Professur für Angewandte Mathematik
IM-Workshop Bernried 2018

IM-Workshop Bernried 2018

IM-Workshop 2018 on Signals, Images, and Approximation

Bernried, February 19 - 23, 2018

International workshop on interesting mathematics. The goal of this workshop is to bring together researchers in Applied Approximation with a focus on mathematical aspects of Signal and Image Processing, including subdivision, frame theory, sparse methods, ...

The workshop will take place in the Bavarian forest and has the goal to be an occasion for scientific interaction, discussion and collaboration in an "Oberwolfach" style (without library). Participation is suggested for the full duration of the workshop, and there will be a joint excursion on Wednesday afternoon. There will be no parallel sessions, no invited or plenary speakers and participants can submit two types of talks: survey or detail talks of 40 min or the focused presentation of a result in 20 min.

The conference will take place in the Hotel "Bernrieder Hof"
and will cost about 500 Euro for single room and full board (breakfast, lunch, dinner, two coffee breaks). There is no additional conference fee and the numberof participants is limited to 30.

Bernried can be reached via Plattling (which is connected quite well by train to the international airports in Frankfurt and Munich) from where we will again try to organize a shuttle service on Sunday evening.

We look forward to you and your contributions. Please register by email to
until December 31, 2017.

With best regards,
    Costanza Conti
    Mariantonia Cotronei
    Nira Dyn
    Brigitte Forster-Heinlein
    Tomas Sauer


  • Matthias Beckmann, University of Hamburg
  • Maria Charina, University of Vienna
  • Costanza Conti, Università di Firenze
  • Mariantonia Cotronei, Università Mediterranea di Reggio Calabria
  • Ba-Duong Chu, Technical University Darmstadt
  • Annie Cuyt, University of Antwerp
  • Benedikt Diederichs, University of Hamburg
  • Nira Dyn, Tel-Aviv University
  • Brigitte Forster, Universität Passau
  • Bin Han, University of Alberta
  • Svenja Hüning, TU Graz
  • Armin Iske, University of Hamburg,
  • René Koch, RWTH Aachen University
  • Ognyan Kounchev, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
  • Oleksandr Kozynenko, Oles Honchar Dnipro National University
  • Wen-shin Lee, University of Antwerp
  • Sergio L ópez-Ureña, Universitat de València
  • Tom Lyche, University of Oslo
  • Lars-Benjamin Maier, Technische Universität Darmstadt
  • Florian Martin, University of Stuttgart
  • Jean-Louis Merrien, INSA Rennes
  • Hartmut Prautzsch, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Vladimir Protasov, University of L’Aquila; Moscow State University
  • Ulrich Reif, TU Darmstadt
  • Guenther Reitberger, University of Passau
  • Dörte Rüweler, University of Passau
  • Tomas Sauer, University of Passau
  • Daniela Schenone, Università degli Studi Milano-Bicocca
  • Michael Skrzipek, Fernuniversität in Hagen
  • Michael Stock, Universität Passau, FORWISS
  • Alberto Viscardi, Università degli studi di Milano-Bicocca
  • Johannes Wallner, TU Graz


  • Costanza Conti, University of Florence
  • Mariantonia Cotronei, University of Reggio Calabria
  • Nira Dyn, Tel Aviv University
  • Brigitte Forster, University of Passau
  • Tomas Sauer, University of Passau